Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Blindness movie


I think that Miramax should have thought twice before making and releasing a movie like this. I think it is very sad that the National Federation of the Blind are saying that by a movie coming out like this the Blind community will have to deal with many new obstacles. Something that was brought up by the NFB that really caught my attention was the fact that this movie will increase the unemployment rate for people who are blind. They wrote about how the movie is going to reinforce the misconceptions about the blind and people are going to think that blind people are not capable of things that they really are fully capable of. It’s disappointing that the film portrays the blind as “filthy, incompetent, and vicious.” It also said that in the movie, the blind people were shown as not being able to do even the simplest of things, such as get dressed or go to the bathroom. The one lady who is not blind is portrayed as physically and mentally superior to others only because she has her sight. I think that this will give people a lower view on people who are blind, even if they are not judgmental or usually have such negative views about the blind. Movies are made so well nowadays that many people are going to think everything they see about the blind is in fact true, because it looks so real. I think that this movie should not have even been made since it is so offending to the blind and family members and friends of blind individuals.
http://www.shockya.com/news/wp-content/uploads/blindness_movie_poster.jpg

1 comment:

C.Krohn said...

Do you think that there are those out there who may actually watch the movie and view it critically? Can we lump all people who observing the movie into the same category? You make valid points in your argument and I definitely see the danger in this movie being out in public- it reminds me of the article for class on the Little House on the Prairie...